Deutschheim State Historic Site


Park Information

Missouri State Parks has implemented a number of measures designed to maintain required social distancing and protect visitors, volunteers and staff. We ask our visitors to view our Park Hours to confirm operating hours. A full list of temporary closures can be found here. The latest information from Missouri State Parks on COVID-19 can be found here.

Visitors can discover a part of German-American heritage and experience an early Missouri settlement, all in one place—Deutschheim State Historic Site. This site is located in Hermann, a town known throughout the Midwest for its German heritage. Deutschheim State Historic Site preserves two structures that reflect the 1840s and 1850s when Germans first settled the Missouri River valley that reminded them of home.

The site includes the Pommer-Gentner house, which was built in 1840 and is one of the oldest surviving buildings in Hermann. It also preserves the Carl Strehly house, which was built in 1842. Through guided tours of both historic houses, visitors can experience the daily life and traditions of German immigrants to Missouri in the mid-19th century.

Park Hours

For temporary closures related to weather, stewardship activities and maintenance, visit our Park and Site Status Map.

Temporary COVID-19 Hours

  • Tours will be offered Saturday and Sunday at 10 a.m., 12:30 p.m. and 2:30 p.m. by reservation only (over the phone). Maximum capacity of ours will be five people at the regular tour rate ($5/adult and $3/youth). Face coverings are recommended and encouraged.
  • Visitor center capacity will be limited to six people at one time. Face coverings are recommended and encouraged (disposable masks will be available on a stand near the register). Hand washing/sanitizing upon entry into the visitor center is also encouraged and recommended.

Historic Site Grounds

Sunrise to sunset, year-round​

Historic Site Office hours

Temporary Hours Through Jan. 31

  • 10 a.m. to 4 p.m., Monday through Friday
  • Closed New Year’s, Easter, Thanksgiving and Christmas days