Main Menu

Clark's Hill/Norton State Historic Site

Activities

Choose Activity »

Park Information

Walk in the footsteps of the Lewis and Clark Expedition at Clark’s Hill/Norton State Historic State. The explorers camped at the base of Clark’s Hill between June 1 and June 3, 1804, on their epic journey. Wiliam Clark climbed the hill on June 2 and saw a sweeping vista that included the confluence of the Missouri and Osage rivers.  Today, a short trail takes visitors past two Indian mounds mentioned by Clark in his journals and to an overlook that shows where Clark stood more than 200 years ago.  

Park Hours

Grounds:

Open during daylight hours.

Address

Osage Hickory Street
Osage City, MO

Phone number

  • Park Office: (573) 449-7402
Sometime between 1936 and 1938, the Missouri State Society Daughters of the American Revolution published “The Old Tavern; Book of Recipes,” which contained more than 700 recipes from DAR members and the J. Huston Tavern at Arrow Rock State Historic Site. The recipes offered a unique glimpse into our food culture during the early years of the 20th century. On page 36 is a recipe for buttermilk biscuits: “Add to ½ sifter of flour, 1 scant tsp. soda, ¼ tsp salt, 2 level tsp. baking powder. Sift into mixing bowl. Cut in with fork 2 heaping tbsp. lard, 1pt. buttermilk. Turn onto floured board, knead to soft dough, Roll 3/8 inch thick. Bake in greased pan in hot oven. 30 biscuits.” You can try the recipe itself or enjoy the fine food served today at the J. Huston Tavern, the oldest continually operating restaurant west of the Mississippi. For more information, visit http://www.mostateparks.com/park/arrow-rock-state-historic-site.