Closed State Park Properties

at Missouri State Parks


Missouri State Parks will hold a series of public meetings in early December to discuss the future of three state park properties. The three properties, which have not been developed and are currently closed, are Ozark Mountain State Park in Taney County, Bryant Creek State Park in Douglas County, and Jay Nixon State Park in Reynolds County. 

Representatives from Missouri State Parks will be present at the meetings to receive input from the public on the future of the properties and to provide information about the properties. 

Note:  The public comment period has been extended and will now be from Dec. 4 through Jan. 5. Beginning on Dec. 4, a survey will be available on this page through which people can submit their comments about the future of the three park properties. 

Litigation has been filed in Oregon County relating to the Eleven Point State Park property. Missouri State Parks plans to hold a public meeting regarding that property pending outcome of the litigation.

Public Meeting Schedule

Missouri State Parks will hold public meetings on the future of three state park properties 

Ozark Mountain State Park
Monday, Dec. 4, 6 p.m. to 8 p.m.
Dewey Short Visitor Center 
4500 State Highway 165, Branson, MO  65616

Bryant Creek State Park
Tuesday, Dec. 5, 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. 
Ava Community Center 
108 Northeast 2nd Ave., Ava, MO 65608

Jay Nixon State Park
Thursday, Dec. 7, 6 p.m. to 8 p.m.
Johnson’s Shut-Ins State Park
148 Taum Sauk Trail, Middlebrook, MO 63656