Length: .50 Mile View map
Osage trail offers views of both the Osage and Missouri rivers. In 1804, the confluence of these two rivers was just beyond the overlook. Today, due to channelization of the Missouri River, these two rivers meet about seven miles away.
In June 1804, the Lewis and Clark Expedition camped at the base of the hill at the confluence of these two rivers. On June 2, 1804, William Clark ascended the hill to make observations about both rivers and record in his journal. Today, visitors can journey through the wooded area to the top of Clark’s Hill and see the rock where he stood and viewed these two rivers. On the way up the hill, visitors will pass two Indian mounds that Clark wrote about in his journal. Several interpretive panels along the trail discuss the Lewis and Clark Expedition.
Sections of the trail are very steep. There are two benches along the trail and one at the overlook to provide a place to rest.
You may experience:
- Steep grades and inclines more than 10 percent
- Bluffs or drop-offs next to trail
- Bridges and/or structural crossings
- Natural surface, dirt, mud, gravel, shifting rocks, slippery surface, etc.
- Rocks, roots and/or downed vegetation on trail
|Length||Estimated Hiking Time||Type||Blazes||Trailhead|
|.50 Mile||25 minutes, one way||Linear||Blue||The main parking area|